On Tuesday, we asked you to check out a classic infield fly rule debacle from 2003. We also asked if you, as the umpire, would need to make any corrections if you forgot to declare an infield fly during a game. Mike on our Facebook page had it right– he said “The situation makes it an IFF not the call; nothing to correct.” This call is by rule, not by call. So even if you forget to shout it out, you can still make sure the rule is properly enforced.

Today, we take a look at an obstruction from the 2003 ALDS between Boston and Oakland. 3B Umpire Bill Welke indicates that Oakland’s Miguel Tejada was obstructed as he rounded third base. But Tejada stops headed toward home, and is tagged out by the Red Sox, a result the umpires allowed to stand.

This example highlights the difference between type A and type B obstruction. In type B, no play is being made on the runner at the time of the obstruction, so the play is allowed to proceed like it was in this case– MLB rule 6.01(h)(2). Did the crew get this one right? Let us know in the comments or on our Facebook or Twitter pages. And please share any similar plays you’ve experienced in your games. They say something new happens every day on the baseball field, and we can often be best prepared to see something for the first time by remembering a situational example.

Skip to toolbar