by Rusty | Jan 21, 2022 | Announcements
Bases loaded, 1 out. The batter hits a soft ground ball to F1. F1 plays against the batter at first, who is put out. R1 is nearly to 2B, but realizes R2 never left. R3 scores, R1 retreats to 1B, as R2 stays on 2B. Are R1 and R2 legally allowed to return to their...
by UmpMatt | May 18, 2021 | Announcements
2021 RIABUA COVID-19 Guidelines for Umpires RIABUA has issued the following coronavirus safety guidance for umpires. RIABUA will review and update these guidelines as needed during the season based on the most current medical data and state and local guidelines....
by UmpMatt | Apr 30, 2021 | Announcements
2021 RIABUA COVID-19 Guidelines for Umpires RIABUA has issued the following coronavirus safety guidance for umpires for the start of the 2021 season. RIABUA will review and update these guidelines as needed during the season based on the most current medical data and...
by UmpMatt | Mar 22, 2021 | Blog, RULES QUESTION
R1, base hit to center field. R1 advances to third, but missed second. The pitcher, now back on the rubber with the ball ready for the next batter, steps off. Original R1 (now at 3B) takes off, causing the pitcher to throw home. He is safe. Can the defense still...
by UmpMatt | Mar 22, 2021 | RIABUA Reports
2021 RIABUA COVID-19 Guidelines for Umpires RIABUA has issued the following coronavirus safety guidance for umpires for the start of the 2021 season. RIABUA will review and update these guidelines as needed during the season based on the most current medical data and...
by UmpMatt | Mar 16, 2021 | Blog, RULES QUESTION
R1, 2 out. The batter doubles to left. R1 scores, but missed second base. After playing action has concluded, the pitcher, on the rubber to pitch to the next batter, picks the former batter (now R2) off at second base. May he now appeal R1’s original miss of...
by UmpMatt | Jun 26, 2020 | RIABUA Reports
RIABUA has issued the following coronavirus safety guidance for umpires for the start of the 2020 season. RIABUA will review and update these guidelines as needed during the season based on the most current medical data and state and local guidelines. REVISED...
by Rusty | Apr 14, 2020 | RULES QUESTION
NFHS Rules. F8 gloves a ball, stops and surveys the field, and then the ball falls out of his glove. Based on this do you have a catch? Why?
by Rusty | Apr 9, 2020 | RULES QUESTION
Rules Question: R1, R2, 1 out. Ball is hit in the air near the 3B foul line. F5 camps under the ball. The umpire should declare what?
by Rusty | Apr 9, 2020 | RULES QUESTION
NFHS Rules. Jack is the DH to start the game, for F4. He enters on defense for F4 at the start of the third inning. Does the team retain the DH?