WHAT YOU GOT

Rules Question of the Day: R3, 1 out. As the pitcher begins his delivery, the batter steps out of the box asking for time (which isn’t granted). The pitcher stops his motion seeing the batter exit the box. Is this a balk?

WHAT YOU GOT

Rules Question of the Day: R2. The pitcher steps to make a move to second base but throws to the SS who is playing well off the bag in his usual position and is not in position to try a tag on the runner. Has the pitcher balked?

What You Got

Rules Question of the Day: R1 and R3. 1 out. Fly ball caught by F8. Both runners tag legally. R3 scores on a close play at the plate. R1, halfway to second and thinking R3 was called out at home, abandons his effort to run the bases, heading back to the dugout. The...

What You Got?

Rules Question of the Day: R1 and R3, 2 out. The batter singles on a trapped ball not caught in left field. R3 scores the tying run. R1 believes the ball was caught, and on his way to second abandons the base path and runs to the dugout. The umpires rule that R2 is...

What You Got?

Rules Question of the Day: R3, 1 out. With the runner coming home on a wild pitch, the batter remains in the box and interferes with F1 taking the throw at the plate. What’s the call and who is out?

What You Got?

Rules Question of the Day: R1, 1 out. The batter hits a fly ball to deep RF. The ball bounces out of F9’s glove and then goes over the outfield fence in fair territory before striking the ground beyond the fence. What’s the call?

What You Got?

Rules Question of the Day: R1, 1 out. The batter hits a fly ball near the foul line in RF. The ball bounces out of F9’s glove in fair territory and then goes airborne over the fence/side wall in foul territory. What’s the call?

What You Got

Rules Question of the Day: R2, 1 out. Dropped third strike. As the batter is leaving the box to run to first, his foot touches the ball in the vicinity of home plate. Is the ball live or is there interference?

What You Got

Rules Question of the Day: Soft liner toward first base, hooking foul. As F3 is cutting behind the first base coach to attempt a play, the 1B coach in his box reaches out slightly toward the field of play and catches the ball. Is there any...

Rules Question

Rules Question of the Day: R1. The pitcher gets the sign, and as he is coming up to get set, properly steps and throws to first, but prior to coming to a complete stop. The umpire calls a balk. Has he made an error?
Skip to toolbar