Over the past few weeks, the NCAA’s new HBP rule has come into play in multiple games. On Tuesday, enforcement of the rule resulted in the final out of a game between the University of Texas and University of Texas Rio Grande Valley. Under the new 2019 rule, a batter judged to have made an effort to intentionally be hit by a pitch shall not only be held at the plate, but should also be charged a strike. See page 2 of this rule change guide from the NCAA for details. All plays involving a HBP are subject to review, according to the guide.

Here is the play from Tuesday night:

This rule also came up in a game between Army and LSU late last month. The home plate umpire again called a strike for violation of the rule. Close Call Sports conducted a full analysis of this example which is worth reading.

What do you think of these two cases and of this new rule? Let us know in the comments below and on our Facebook page!

 

Skip to toolbar